Daily Archives: 23/08/11

“Sympathy For The SIXX”


Please allow me to introduce myself
I’m a man of wealth and taste
I’ve been around for a long, long year
Stole many a mans soul and faith

And I was round when Jesus Christ
Had his moment of doubt and pain
Made damn sure that Pilate
Washed his hands and sealed his fate

Pleased to meet you
Hope you guess my name
But what’s puzzling you
Is the nature of my game
I stuck around st. petersburg
When I saw it was a time for a change
Killed the czar and his ministers
Anastasia screamed in vain

I rode a tank
Held a Colonels rank
When the blitzkrieg raged
And the bodies stank

Pleased to meet you
Hope you guess my name, oh yeah
Ah, what’s puzzling you
Is the nature of my game, oh yeah

I watched with glee
While your kings and queens
Fought for ten decades
For the gods they made
I shouted out,
Who killed the kennedys?
When after all
It was you and me

Let me please introduce myself
I’m a man of wealth and taste
And I laid traps for troubadours
Who get killed before they reached Bombay
Pleased to meet you
Hope you guessed my name, oh yeah
But what’s puzzling you
Is the nature of my game, oh yeah, get down, baby

Pleased to meet you
Hope you guessed my name, oh yeah
But what’s confusing you
Is just the nature of my game
Just as every cop is a criminal
And all the sinners saints
As heads is tails
Just call me Lucifer
Cause I’m in need of some restraint

So if you meet me
Have some courtesy
Have some sympathy, and some taste
Use all your well-learned politesse
Or I’ll lay your soul to waste, um yeah
Pleased to meet you
Hope you guessed my name, um yeah
But what’s puzzling you
Is the nature of my game, um mean it, get down
Woo, who
Oh yeah, get on down
Oh yeah
Oh yeah!

Tell me baby, what’s my name
Tell me honey, can ya guess my name
Tell me baby, what’s my name
I tell you one time, you’re to blame

 

@ColonelSixx

 

Libya: Airstrikes No Longer Practical


By and ELISABETH BUMIILLER

Published: August 23, 2011

http://colonel6.com/2011/08/22/colonel-sixxyou-shall-be-utterly-slain-and-blood-will-flow-and-rise-as-high-as-the-horses%E2%80%99-bridles/

WASHINGTON — The NATO air campaign that was instrumental in helping the rebels advance into Tripoli is hamstrung in many ways now that the fighting has turned into complex house-to-house urban warfare, American military and allied officials said Tuesday.

For legal and practical reasons, as well as to avoid the perception of bombing indiscriminately inside Tripoli, the Libyan capital, allied warplanes will continue to prowl for targets, but mostly on the outskirts of the city where government troops might be trying to escape or reinforce Tripoli — and where the risk of civilian casualties is much lower, allied officials said.

A NATO spokesman, Col. Roland Lavoie, said at a news conference in Naples, Italy, on Tuesday that “there are still weapons out there and there are still targets that we could hit if we have any signs that they could represent a threat to the civilian population.”

But he and other NATO officials acknowledged that the urban environment in Tripoli, a city of about two million people, was “far more complex” for airstrikes than past targets have been.

Until now, the vast majority of targets attacked in Tripoli have been sites suspected of being military command headquarters or weapons-storage buildings that NATO monitored closely for days or weeks with surveillance aircraft, including Predator drones, to ensure that no civilians were living or working there.

Allied targeting experts and fighter pilots do not have that option with the rapidly shifting battle lines in block-by-block combat carried on by fighters on both sides dressed in civilian clothing.

“It could be difficult, because the use of air power, to a large degree, is negated when you get into this kind of urban warfare,” Senator John McCain said Tuesday on “The Early Show” on CBS. “It’s hard to identify targets and hard to be effective.  But I don’t think there’s any doubt of the eventual outcome.”

This is hardly the first time that the United States or NATO has dealt with the challenge of rooting out foes in urban environments. American troops, in particular, learned many lessons combating the insurgency in Baghdad. While the United States and NATO do not have major armies on the ground in Libya, the allies have passed on these lessons to the rebel fighters. Applying them, they think, will allow rebels who had been dependent on strong NATO air support for many of their past gains to drive Qaddafi loyalists out of Tripoli completely.

A NATO military official said Tuesday, for instance, that British and French commandos were on the ground with the rebels in Tripoli offering “fairly extensive” help. “They’re doing a lot of coordination with some of the air assets that we have to bring specific targeting on the remnants of the pro-Qaddafi regime,” the official said, describing a traditional role of commandos in calling in airstrikes on precise targets, or instructing the rebels on how to do it themselves.

The military official said he did not know if Central Intelligence Agency operatives in Libya were also working with the rebels in Tripoli, but he said “they certainly should be.”

Outside Tripoli, fighting continued on Tuesday in government strongholds like Surt and Sabha, and Colonel Lavoie said allied warplanes would continue to use precision weapons to enforce the United Nations mandate to protect civilians. “It might not be on the front line,” he said. “It might be in the approaches of Tripoli if there are movements of vehicles.”

NATO dropped little ordnance in the last 24 hours — the French bombed some small mobile rocket launchers in Brega — and the United States dropped none.

“This is not a situation where there’s a whole lot of kinetic targeting taking place from the air,” an American defense official said. “There is an abundance of caution being exercised when you’re working in a confined urban environment. Operations are obviously moving in favor of the rebels every day, so you don’t want to do things that would be counterproductive to that progress.”

READ THE REST:

@ColonelSixx

A Letter from Michael


To all of my supporters,

I wanted to write this letter to the thousands of people all over the world who continue to support me and still have hope that justice is indeed attainable in the military justice system.  It is an attempt to show my mindset here in prison to the people whom I have not had the opportunity to meet.

Recently the Army Court of Appeals ruled against my request for a new trial.  As odd as it may sound, I have been preparing for this day for over a year.  That is, I was prepared for an unfavorable decision whereby the court would uphold my conviction and sentence.  Like Shakespeare said, ‘Expectation is the root of all heartache’ because expectation leaves one vulnerable to disappointment.   Expectation is not the same as hope and I promise you I have not lost that.   I was recently reminded of a quote from the movie Shawshank Redemption where the main character (another man who was unjustly sent to prison) says ‘Hope is a good thing; maybe the best of things.’  So while my hope was for a good outcome, my expectation was much more practical for a person sitting behind bars with a lot of time on his hands.  And because I kept my expectations in check the decision by the Appeals Court did not emotionally harm me; for it to do that it would have had to come from within.  No one can harm the man who refuses to harm himself.

So this court decision does not discourage at all.  Furthermore, I am not bitter or angry, nor do I hate the people that had anything to do with putting me in prison.  If I hated them they would still be controlling me and I refuse to give them that power.  They may have confined my body and taken my physical freedom away, but my mind remains as free as any mans.  I am never left with nothing so long as I retain the freedom to choose how I respond.  While we cannot always control what happens to us, we can control our emotions and how we react to what happens to us.

I remain hopeful that in the end justice will prevail and that I may have a fair, impartial trial where all the evidence may be heard.  As Judge H. Lee Sarokin said ‘If trials are indeed searches for the truth rather than efforts to conceal it, full and fair disclosure is necessary to protect and preserve the rights of the accused.’  May more people like you begin to shine a light on the unchecked and ‘under the table’ injustice that runs rampant in our military justice system; a system that we here at Leavenworth have known firsthand, and now the public is getting a glimpse of.  This system cannot be “for justice and not against injustice.’

May the military courts learn something from the wisdom of King Solomon about being just and fair rather than abusing power.  King Solomon had a dream in which God came to him and said “Ask me anything and I will give it to you.” King Solomon answered “I am but a little child.  I know not how to go out or to come in, but I am a servant of thy people.  Give me, therefore, an understanding heart that I may judge thy people wisely and fairly.”  And God said “Because you did not ask for the lives of your enemies, did not ask for longevity, did not ask for riches, because you asked only for this one thing…understanding, I will give you understanding.  There will be none wiser than you on this earth.”

So each day I strive to not focus on the bad, but to find the good.  I immerse myself in books that take me a thousand miles from this place of concrete and steel.  I push forward in my quest of self-discovery and self-observation seeking wisdom to call my own.   From the small window in my prison cell I can see a cornfield where a farmer toils in the hot summer air and I find myself longing to walk that field and feel the earth beneath my feet and the sun against my face.  My hopes are to someday have my own land upon which I will raise cattle and spend all my waking hours in that warm sun upon my horse whose name only I will know.

Gratitude is not something one would expect to find behind these walls, but it is here where I found it…waiting to teach me what really matters in this life.  And while I sleep she gently reminds me how truly blessed my life is.

To my family I want to express my heartfelt gratitude for the strength, support, and unconditional love you have given me all the days of my life.

To my Uncle Rick who is facing his last days on this earth I want you to know how much I love you and admire the life you have lived.

To my girlfriend Shannon for standing beside me I offer up this quote: ‘….and though the road’s end is out of sight, I do not think of the end, for it’s the loving I so love’.  I am so grateful for the love we have for each other and know that it far outweighs the frustration of not being able to have each other like we both want.

I want to thank each of you who continue to support me with your kind letters and your thoughts and prayers.  It shows that there are people who still care about me and are willing to strike out against injustice.  At the grave of Robert F Kennedy there is a quote which says:  ‘It is from numberless diverse acts of courage and belief that human history is shaped. Each time a man stands up for an ideal or acts to improve the lot of others, or strikes out against injustice, he sends forth a tiny ripple of hope, and crossing each other from a million different centers of energy and daring, those ripples build a current that can sweep down the mightiest walls of oppression and resistance.’  You are those ripples in my life that give me hope and for that I am eternally grateful.

Respectfully yours,

Michael

www.defendmichael.com
Forward this email to a Friend

LIBYA: deadliest weapons not yet corralled


http://colonel6.com/2011/08/12/colonel-sixxyou-shall-be-utterly-slain-and-blood-will-flow-and-rise-as-high-as-the-horses%E2%80%99-bridles/

23 August 2011

WASHINGTON (AP) — No one can be sure who controls the Libyan government’s weapons stockpiles, a stew of deadly chemicals, raw nuclear material and some 30,000 shoulder-fired rockets that officials fear could fall into terrorists’ hands in the chaos of Moammar Gadhafi’s downfall or afterward.

One immediate worry, U.S. intelligence and military officials say, is that Gadhafi might use the weapons to make a last stand. But officials also face the troubling prospect that the material, which was left under Gadhafi’s control by a U.S.-backed disarmament pact, could be obtained by al-Qaida or other militants even after a rebel victory is secured.

The main stockpile of mustard gas and other chemicals, stored in corroding drums, is at a site southeast of Tripoli. Mustard gas can cause severe blistering and death. A cache of hundreds of tons of raw uranium yellowcake is stored at a small nuclear facility east of the capital.

Weapons demolition teams hired by the State Department have located and destroyed some of the anti-aircraft rocket systems in rebel-held parts of the country.

U.S. and allied officials say chemical and nuclear stockpiles appear to be still under the control of what’s left of the Libyan government despite rebel military advances into the capital. That may or may not be reassuring. It depends on whether Gadhafi loyalists, increasingly desperate, adhere to international agreements not to use or move the material.

The State Department has also sent experts to Libya to confer with rebel leaders and Libya’s neighbors about abiding by those same compacts and beefing up border security to prevent weapons from being smuggled out.

State Department spokeswoman Victoria Nuland said Tuesday the U.S. is working to ensure that “the governing forces in Libya have full command and control of any WMD or any security assets that the state might have had.” Jamie F. Mannina, spokesman for the State Department’s Bureau of Arms Control, Verification and Compliance, said Libya’s known chemical weapons storage facilities have been monitored since the start of the civil war.

Still, many U.S. officials question whether NATO has enough people on the ground to make sure the material remains secure if Libyan security forces flee their posts. NATO’s decision to limit its participation in the conflict has kept the coalition’s investment in blood and treasure to a minimum. But that has not helped the cause of nonproliferation.

With the battle for the capital Tripoli still unfolding, military advisers from Britain, France, Italy and Qatar are feeding intelligence to the rebels and NATO bombers on the whereabouts of the enemy. That has left U.S. intelligence relying primarily on military drone, satellite and spy plane reports to track Gadhafi’s arsenal.

“No one seems clear” how many of the estimated 30,000 anti-aircraft rockets, and other stockpiles still remain after six months of pounding by air strikes, according to a U.S. official who has been following the Libyan events. Officials spoke on condition of anonymity to discuss matters of intelligence.

As for chemical agents, said British Embassy spokesman Hetty Crist, officials are concerned about the security of some 11 metric tons of mustard gas.

Crist said the Libyan stocks are “under guard in secure and remote locations” at the moment and cannot be used easily for warfare because they are not weaponized.

Despite dismantling much of his nuclear program after making a deal with the Bush administration, Gadhafi has enough weaponry — if he can still reach it — to try to sell to militants.

“There are still going to be a lot of Gadhafi loyalists who could hijack the weapons supplies and use them for an insurgency like Iraq,” said Democratic Rep. Dutch Ruppersberger of Maryland, a member of the House Intelligence Committee.

And if the material goes unguarded, it could be seized by al-Qaida militant sympathizers, he said in an interview Tuesday. “A single rocket can do damage,” he said, recalling the downing of a Chinook helicopter Aug. 5 in Afghanistan from a rocket-propelled grenade fired by the Taliban, killing all 38 troops on board.

The State Department has spent $3 million on two international weapons abatement teams charged with finding and destroying the antiaircraft systems along with other lethal munitions and landmines.

The teams have demolished some of the shoulder-launched antiaircraft missile systems called MANPADS, including nearly 30 Russian SA-7 launchers, according to Alexander Griffiths, director of operations for the Swiss Foundation for Mine Action, one of the abatement groups.

But the teams are only scouring rebel-held battle sites and arms depots, and are not sent into combat hot zones.

Libya possesses a variety of leftover, aging weapons of mass destruction. Libya agreed to halt its WMD programs in 2003, under economic pressure from U.S. and Western embargoes. Gadhafi surrendered the hardware for his nuclear program and let the U.S. remove about 11.5 pounds of weapons-grade uranium from a nuclear research reactor near Tripoli in 2009.

But there are still some 500 to 900 metric tons of raw uranium yellowcake stored in drums at Libya’s lone nuclear reactor, east of Tripoli. The supply is less of a worry for U.S. officials because it requires heavy industrial refining and enrichment before it could be used as an explosive. But it could be sold for a large profit to those more capable of building a nuclear weapon.

Gadhafi also had extensive chemical weapons, which his forces used against Libya’s southern neighbor, Chad, in 1987.

After 2003, Tripoli closed its chemical weapons research and production facilities and destroyed 3,500 unfilled chemical shells used to deliver them on the battlefield.

But the scheduled destruction of some 23 tons of mustard gas didn’t start until last year and was only halfway finished when the system used in the destruction broke, said Paul Walker of the environmental group Global Green, which closely monitors chemical weapons.

The remaining mustard agent is stored inside a domed concrete bunker a few hundred miles south of Tripoli, according to a U.S. official, who insisted on anonymity to speak about the WMD threat in Libya. The facility also had contained more than 1,300 tons of “precursor” chemicals that could be combined to make toxic agents, the official said.

The most pressing matter is to make sure the mustard gas does not end up on the black market or with terrorists, the official said. Stored in canisters that showed signs of corrosion during a 2006 visit by American officials, the chemicals could be easily moved.

Walker said he has heard no evidence that anyone has tried to divert the chemicals. “Any major action such as trucks pulling up, or major troop movements, that would be known pretty quickly,” he said, “and action such as a NATO airstrike could be taken fairly quickly.”

There is no indication that Libya has sarin, soman or other dispersible nerve agents that can cause death on contact. And Gadhafi’s efforts to build a biological weapons program did not get far, according to the Nuclear Threat Initiative, a nonproliferation group.

Japan’s Government Credit Rating Downgraded to Aa3 From Aa2 by Moody’s


August 23, 2011

By Vivek Shankar

Aug. 23 (Bloomberg) — Japan had its rating cut to Aa3 from Aa2 by Moody’s Investors Service, which concluded a review started on May 31. The outlook on the rating is stable.

The downgrade was prompted by large budget deficits and the build-up in Japanese government debt since the 2009 global recession, Moody’s said. It is also difficult for Japan to slow the growth of debt in relation to gross domestic product, the ratings agency said.

The outlook remains stable because of the “undiminished home bias” of Japanese investors and their preference of government bonds, which allows the government’s fiscal deficits to be funded at the lowest nominal rates globally, Moody’s said in the statement.

Libya: NATO Psy-Op Collapses – Qaddafi Prevails Again


 

NATO bluff called by Qaddafi, rebels’ victory facade crumbles.

Tony Cartalucci
Infowars.com
Aug 23, 2011

Once again a defiant Qaddafi has prevailed against the full might of NATO aggression including a murderous bombing campaign followed by NATO special forces on the ground supporting mobs of US/UK/French/Qatari backed Al Qaeda thugs which swarmed Tripoli over the weekend. “Illustrious” news agencies from the Qatari government’s AlJazeera, to the now exposed frauds at CNN, BBC, Reuters, AP, AFP have been caught perpetuating a concerted war propaganda campaign in order to break the will of both Libya and in particular Tripoli.

Reports that Qaddafi’s son Saif Al-Islam was “captured” by Libyan rebels by the disingenuous media outlets and “confirmed” by the Fortune 500 contrived International Criminal Court (ICC), who went as far as saying preparations were already under way to transfer Saif to the Hague,are now confirmed lies with Saif Al-Islam very much free, appearing to journalists at the Rixos Hotel in southern Tripoli flanked by Libyan military forces and very much leading what appears to be a significant Libyan government counterattack. It appears that NATO operations are ending just as they began, based on a verified pack of lies. (Please see March’s “Libya: Another War, Another Pack of Lies“)

Everything we have been told, from President Obama’s teleprompter readings to Luis Moreno-Ocampo of the ICC’s claims of Saif’s “confirmed” capture, to the mainstream media and the Al Qaeda infested “Transitional National Council” are now systematically being exposed as overt, verified lies as part of what may be the biggest psychological operation in modern history. Al Jazeera who was already featuring lofty “The Last Days of Gaddafi” narratives is now forced to face reality and irrefutable evidence that the rebel operations in Tripoli were clearly over-hyped war propaganda and the reality is Qaddafi and the Libyan people have called NATO’s bluff.

To illustrate just how absurd the Western media has become as their lies break upon the rocks of reality, a recent farcical attempt to save face regarding Saif’s appearance before journalists at the Riox included an Al Jazeera report claiming that rebel leaders had confirmation Saif al-Islam was arrested “but have no idea how he escaped.” To help out the media it might be suggested that Saif was never captured in the first place and that reports of his arrest were simply a ploy to embolden rebels and make it appear as if the momentum had swung in favor of NATO.

Image: Here, the International Criminal Court “confirms” the now verified lie that Saif Al-Islam was being held by rebels. ICC prosecutor Luis Moreno-Ocampo, in a fit of unmitigated lies claimed, “we have confidential information from different sources that we have within Libya confirming this.” He would continue, “it is very important to make clear there is an obligation to surrender Saif to the ICC in accordance with the Security Council resolution.” Along with UN Chief Ban Ki-Moon’s claim that the “international community” is obligated to comply to the ICC we see unfolding a criminal organization of liars and degenerates of unprecedented proportions.

What follows next is unsure. With Council on Foreign Relations president Richard Haas and others calling for an expedient landing of NATO occupation forces it seems they above all others knew just how tenuous the rebels’ hold on Tripoli was. As explained previously, the war in Libya goes beyond pilfering the nation’s material wealth, it is about establishing the Wall Street-London international order and its primacy over the nation-state. A NATO failure in Libya would infinitely complicate planned operations against Syria, Iran, and along Russia and China’s peripheries. While it appears that NATO’s last ditch murder spree has failed, with so much on the table, everything from continuous carpet bombing to a NATO land invasion under the guise of UN “peace monitors” or Haas’ NATO occupation forces are possibilities already being planned.

What we do know is how desperate the corporate-financier elite are and how absolute their control is over the mainstream media. Such a large, wide scale disinformation campaign is only possible if each news agency, from AP, Reuters, BBC, Guardian, Telegraph, New York Times, CNN, Al Jazeera and others, are completely compromised by corporate-financier interests. The following lists shows that indeed many of these “news agencies” share consortium memberships with some of the largest corporate-financier interests on earth presenting an immense conflict of interest obviously producing astronomically duplicitous improprieties.

Council on Foreign Relations
Chatham House (Major Corporate Members)
Chatham House (Corporate Members)
Chatham House (Corporate Partners)
Brookings Institution (page 20 of Annual Report)

When we see Reuters sitting side-by-side oil giants like BP, Exxon, Chevron within the halls of the Council on Foreign Relations and the Chatham House and then see reports gloating over Western oil companies moving in to replace Chinese and Russian investments in Libya, their duplicity and lack of independence in their reporting becomes glaringly obvious. These media organizations are in fact PR fronts for the Fortune 500 and their collective goal of implementing a global empire, nation to nation. For now, they are currently obsessed over Libya and the implications its conclusion will have on their future planned conquests, the next being Syria.

It would be a good idea for those following the current NATO murder spree in Libya to abandon any trust in Reuters, BBC, CNN, MSNBC, CBS, NBC, ABC, and any of the “reputable” newspapers wasting paper and space on our nations’ newsstands, all of whose fates are tied directly to the corporate-financier interests pinning their hopes on a NATO victory in Libya. Instead, we must commit ourselves to vetting reliable alternative news sources as well as committing ourselves to the responsible of researching the news of the day on our own. Let this be proof positive as to how essential it is to boycott and replace everything eminating from the Fortune 500 including their army of professional liars also known as the “mainstream media.”

Tony Cartalucci  is the writer and editor at Land Destoyer Report

@ColonelSixx

 

‘CIA, MI6 ‘journos’ in Tripoli Rixos hotel, outside NATO loses ground’


 

RT
Aug 23, 2011

Journalists trapped in a Tripoli hotel say there are heavy explosions close-by, power is down, and there’s gunfire outside. Journalist Thierry Meyssan, who’s founder and chairman of online newspaper the Voltaire Network is in the Rixos hotel in Tripoli and says NATO forces are doing everything to back up rebels.

 

Libya- “It is not over”


Libya rebels lose territory as battle for Tripoli deepens

A quick rebel victory is fading into uncertainty as Qaddafi gunmen are fighting back and Muammar Qaddafi’s politically powerful son Saif al-Islam reemerges.

23  August 2011

Two days after rebels exulted in their swift takeover of Tripoli, signaling the endgame for Libyan leader Muammar Qaddafi, the capital has become a stage for a potentially protracted battle between rebels and loyalists.

The rebels expected a decisive victory after entering the city easily this weekend, Bloomberg reports, but they are still locked in battle with Mr. Qaddafi’s fighters inside and outside Tripoli.

The Wall Street Journal reports that the rebels pulled back from much of the territory in the city that they took earlier in the week and seemed to be in control of only a “slice of land leading from the western edge to near the city center.” Qaddafi gunmen have staked out several neighborhoods and Green Square, where rebel supporters celebrated Sunday night, is now a “no-man’s land.”

The scenes in Tripoli undermined early impressions that forces loyal to Col. Gadhafi, who has ruled the oil-rich Mediterranean country for nearly 42 years, had been all but neutralized. Instead, the leader remains unaccounted for as fighting continues. The unease suggested instead that the regime’s end, while broadly expected, may bring more bloodshed, this time in a densely populated urban theater.

According to the Associated Press, the fiercest fighting took place around the Bab al-Aziziya compound, where Qaddafi, his family, and his closest advisers have barricaded themselves for much of the war. On Monday, government tanks repelled rebel forces attempting to infiltrate the compound.

NATO has put its air campaign in overdrive in the past two days, hitting at least 40 targets in Tripoli – the highest number in one location since its intervention began in March.

In a major blow, Qaddafi’s son and one-time heir apparent, Saif al-Islam Qaddafi, reappeared after rebels had claimed to have captured him, saying that the rebel forces in the city had walked into a trap and that loyalist fighters had broken the back of the rebels.

He walked into the Rixos Hotel, where the government has sequestered foreign journalists, and offered to take foreign journalists on a tour to prove the regime’s continued control over the capital.

“I will take you [the press] on a tour in Tripoli in the most heated areas, and you will see that all is secure, the world will know it’s secure,” he said.

The rebels said yesterday that they had captured Saif and were considering sending him to the International Criminal Court, but he denied today that he had ever been in rebel custody. The rebels had also said they captured his older brother, Mohammad, who has now escaped, Al Jazeera reports.

The false reports about the two Qaddafi sons raises questions about the credibility of the rebel leadership, which was already in doubt, The New York Times reports.

While the battle for Tripoli continues, two cities – Sabha and Sirte – remain firmly in the hands of Qaddafi loyalists. On Monday, NATO stopped a Scud missile fired from Sirte toward Misurata, the Times reports. Today, the rebels halted an Army convoy traveling toward Tripoli from Sirte, killing dozens of Qaddafi’s troops, the AP reports.

Qaddafi has repeatedly vowed to remain in Tripoli “until the end,” but he could also seek refuge in Sirte, his hometown. Almost all of western and eastern Libya is now under rebel control.

30 Questions That Children Should Be Asking Their Parents About The U.S. Economy


August 22, 2011

 

Source: The American Dream

There are a whole lot of things about the U.S. economy that don’t make any sense whatsoever.  Sadly, most adults have been so programmed to accept the way that things are by years and years of relentless propaganda that they don’t even bother to question the status quo any longer.  But little kids are different.  Many little kids are not afraid to say the darnedest things or ask really embarrassing questions.  Have you ever been in a situation where a child asks an obvious question that did not even occur to any of the adults?  That happens so often because the minds of little kids have not been completely warped by the world we live in yet.  They are able to see things with honesty and innocence and with fresh eyes.  Well, perhaps all of us should start looking at our economy and our financial system through the eyes of little children.  There are a lot of things that we have been programmed to accept that we really should be asking some hard questions about.

Do you remember the fairy tale entitled “The Emperor’s New Clothes“?  All of the adults were telling the emperor how wonderful his clothes looked as he strutted about.  It took a little child to proclaim that the emperor was really running around naked.

Well, things are very similar today.  Our politicians, our media, the big corporations, the big Wall Street banks and our entire education system all tell us that everything is just fine.  They promise that any downturns are just temporary and that things will soon be better than ever.

But are they telling us the truth?

Perhaps it is time for someone to step forward and point out that the emperor does not have any clothes on.

The following are 30 questions that children should be asking their parents about the U.S. economy….

#1 Why has this generation spent 14 trillion dollars that belong to future generations?

#2 Why was the Federal Reserve allowed to make 16 trillion dollars in secret loans to their friends during the financial crisis and nobody is holding them accountable?

#3 Why is the Federal Reserve paying banks not to make loans?

#4 If the Federal Reserve is constantly devaluing our money, then why should anyone save money?  Won’t it be worth a lot less in future years?

#5 If the United States has the greatest economy on earth, then why were only 58.1% of Americans over the age of 16 employed last month?

#6 Should we be alarmed that the largest bank in the United States, Bank of America, is laying off 3,500 more workers and that we are seeing substantial layoffs all over Wall Street?

#7 Why does the federal government buy food for almost 46 million Americans every single month?  Isn’t this a sign of an economic system that is deeply broken?

#8 Why do some Americans have to give more than half of all the money that they make to the government?

#9 If our founding fathers intended to set up a limited central government, then why does the federal government just continue to get bigger and bigger?

#10 Why are middle class families taxed into oblivion while the big oil companies receive about $4.4 billion in specialized tax breaks a year from the federal government?

#12 Why are large groups of young people invading retail stores and stealing whatever they want?

#13 If the producer price index has increased at an annual rate of at least 7.0%for the last three months in a row, then how can Federal Reserve Chairman Ben Bernanke claim that inflation is still very low?

#14 Why does hardly anyone seem concerned that global food prices are 33 percent higher than they were a year ago?

#15 If low income jobs now account for 41 percent of all jobs in the United States, then how are we going to continue to have a vibrant middle class?

#16 If only 66.8% of American men had a job last year, then how are the rest of them supposed to support their families?

#17 If it costs tens of billions of dollars to take care of all of the illegal immigrants that are already in this country, why did the Obama administration go around Congress and grant “backdoor amnesty” to the vast majority of them?  Won’t that just encourage millions more to come in illegally?

#18 Shouldn’t we be alarmed that 59 percent of all Americans now receive money from the federal government in one form or another, and that U.S. households are now receiving more income from the U.S. government than they are paying to the government in taxes?  Didn’t our founding fathers try to warn us about this sort of thing?

#19 If homes sales continue to drop even with mortgage rates near record lows, then what in the world is going to happen to the real estate industry once interest rates start going up?

#20 Why has the cost of college tuition in the United States gone up by over 900 percent since 1978?  Has the quality of a college education gone up by 900 percent?

#21 If the new health care law is so great, then why has the Obama administration granted 1,472 waivers to companies and organizations so far?

#22 Why is the percentage of millionaires in Congress more than 50 times higher than the percentage of millionaires in the general population?

#23 If the debt ceiling deal was such a big deal to the Republicans, then why did they agree to a deal that only included a measly 25 billion dollars in savings prior to the next presidential election?

#24 The poorest 50% of all Americans collectively own just 2.5% of all the wealth in the United States.  If allowing the federal government and the big corporations to run everything results in a massive concentration of wealth at the very top and leaves so many others barely able to survive, then why do we continue to run things this way?  Isn’t capitalism supposed to be about empowering individuals and small businesses?

#25 If we are in an “economic recovery”, then why are thousands upon thousands of people lining up just to get into a job fair?

#26 If millions of our jobs have already been shipped out of the country, then why is Barack Obama trying to get Congress to agree to even more free trade agreements with countries where it is legal to pay slave labor wages?

#27 Why has the United States had a negative trade balance every single year since 1976?

#28 If the United States has lost an average of 50,000 manufacturing jobs a month since China joined the World Trade Organization in 2001, then why don’t our politicians do something about it?

#29 Why was the new Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial on the National Mallmade in China? Wasn’t there anyone in America that could make it?

#30 If 78 percent of the American people are dissatisfied “with the way this country’s political system is working”, then why won’t the politicians change the way that they are doing things?